In English


The rural development association Ylä-Savon Veturi ry was established in 1999. There are seven municipalities - Iisalmi, Keitele, Kiuruvesi, Lapinlahti, Pielavesi, Sonkajärvi and Vieremä in the region of Ylä-Savo. There are about 57.000 inhabitants in the region.

The aim of the association is to encourage the rural people to develop their own living environment and daily life, to increase co-operation between rural associations and municipalities and to assist rural people and associations in the preparation and implementation of their development projects.

Ylä-Savon Veturi is one the ‘Leader-mainstreamed LAGs’ in Finland. During 2007-2013 about 80 rural development projects were funded by LAG Ylä-Savon Veturi. These projects are both investment projects for example village house renovation, recreation areas and paths, and other community development projects such as activation, training, culture and tradition. We offer guidance for project planning and village development planning process as well as organize training, study trips and seminars with different themes.

Watch the video of Finland's countryside


Sivukartta | Tulosta | Sivun alkuun